coffeeandcampfires

Embarking

As far back as I can remember, writing has always been the most effective way for me to process life. I journaled my way through the pimple-prone hallways of jr. high, the people-pleasing problems of high school, and the stress-infested nights in college, trying to answer the question dreaded by all seniors, “Soooooooo…what are ya gonna do with the rest of your life?” I have saved all of those journals and plenty more, partly so that when I’m gone, my kids can look back on my life and say, “Mom struggled with this, too?!”  At least I’d like to think that’s what they’ll say.  Maybe what they’ll really be thinking is, “Sweet Moses! Mom was screwed up!”  And then they’ll go get themselves some therapy.  Or maybe they’ll start to journal, too. 

What I’ve learned about myself is that I really like to write.  Not just because writing helps me to process life but because writing seems to be a more effective way for me to communicate. I don’t fumble over my words, wondering if I sound like a blubbering idiot, wishing I had said this, not that. Trying to “re-do” a conversation is more difficult (and embarrassing) for me than tapping the backspace key. Plus, now I get to sound like a blubbering idiot in Times New Roman. Or is this Arial? 

And so, after months, nay a few years of putting this off because I was too busy or rather, too busy seeking perfection before I would dare start, I’ve decided to blog.  I’m not blogging with a particular interest in mind, though I have many. I don’t have an agenda, though I plan to highlight those issues close to my heart.  I simply like to write.  And this blog will allow me to share more details of my life, our life, with those we love.

I welcome you to join me as I embark on this new adventure.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Embarking

  1. I’m so glad you’re doing this. You’re an inspiration to me to stop waiting for the “perfect” words or the “perfect” life lesson, or the “perfect” answers to come. Just write. 🙂

  2. thank you, all! your encouragement means a great deal. and aunt jo…follow your heart.

  3. Jo Ann on said:

    Wish I could follow my heart in doing this. I am so happy that you are doing it … and a very proud aunt!

  4. Carol Long on said:

    So proud that you have started. Looking forward to following your “public journal” Love you

  5. Katie! Dude! I am so excited about this! I can’t wait to read more and journey with you. Blogging has been great for me and I love sharing thoughts, ideas, stories, and those things that are close to my heart. Keep it up Katie and I can’t wait to read more. 🙂

  6. Valerie Ford on said:

    🙂

  7. Yahoo I can’t wait to see what you have to say!!! I’ll add you to my favorites! Let me know if you have any wordpress questions. AND SAVE SAVE SAVE as you go, Trust me!

  8. Beth Willis Miller on said:

    What a wonderful first blog…you’re on your way…looking forward to reading more 🙂

  9. Becky on said:

    Love you and love your writing. I know you will bring much laughter and encouragement to any who read your thoughts, dear friend!

  10. blessings to you as you begin! I will be very happy to join you on the journey! 🙂

Leave a Reply

