coffeeandcampfires

Resolutions?

At the end of every year, I take stock of the previous twelve months and then wonder whether I should compile a list of resolutions (I prefer “goals” but whatever…). Resolutions usually seem like a great idea, what with all the steps toward self-improvement and such. I mean, who doesn’t want to look better or be better? But to be honest, I’m weary of that kind of pressure, internal or otherwise. Of course I want to look better and be better but then I think of what that will require of me and I burn calories just thinking about it. My heart starts to pound, my anxiety increases, and I wonder how I can add another item to my already growing to-do list.

So, this year I made a small, manageable list of specifics, affectionately dubbed “The List”, that I’d like to accomplish in 2014. Will I be challenged by The List? Sure. Am I overwhelmed by The List? Nope. I’m actually looking forward to most items. Seriously, some of them are really fun.  For instance, #11:  “Spend a day in NYC with the kiddos”.  Have you met my kids?  They. Are. Hilarious.  And a day in NYC will most definitely be one hysterical adventure. I can’t wait!  Will I be a better person/wife/mother if I complete The List? Perhaps. Will I be more healthy by checking things off The List? Maybe. Believe me, I’d like to see fewer dimples on the ol’ saddlebags but that’s another matter.

The List aside, do you know what I really want in 2014?

I want to know more deeply the immeasurable love of God.

I want to consistently rest in His promises.

I want to trust wholeheartedly in His faithfulness.

I want to keep hoping that God will give our family the desire of our hearts: to adopt a baby with Down syndrome.

But how do I “do” these: knowing, resting, trusting, and hoping? How can I more deeply know the immeasurable love of God? What does that look like in my daily routine?

These 2014 desires are hard to put into a to-do list. And that’s not what I want anyway. I don’t want more tasks. But I’m also a practical person and I prefer some sort of method by which I can measure my growth.

So, I’ve decided to turn these 4 simple desires into questions to ask myself weekly or monthly.  It’s not a perfect system but I’m done with trying to be perfect.  And I’m done with systems.  I’m ready to engage more intimately with my Savior and to spend time resting in His character.  I hope these questions will help me to “do” that better.

How about you?  Do you make a list of resolutions or goals?  I’d like to hear your thoughts.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Resolutions?

  1. You are so right. He is much more interested in who we ARE rather than what we DO. But doing is so much easier. This year I aim to be still and know…to cast my burdens upon Him and allow Him to give me rest…to understand His Greatness just a little more.

    • Mom, I like your aims for the year. Doing is much easier to measure and there’s a sense of accomplishment when you can cross those items off of your to-do list. But like you, I don’t want to miss being in the midst of all my doing. Praying that you can experience His rest ~ that you’ll take the time to be still before Him. Miss you already…

  2. Lindsey Pettengill on said:

    Great post!!!

  3. That is a beautiful sentiment. But, where’s “the list”? I wanted to read “the list”. I know you will succeed in anything you put your heart and soul into. You are a powerful woman of God and I revel in the fact that we are friends and pray some of it rubs off into my own life.

    • Hey, Jen! Thanks for your post. I didn’t include The List because I didn’t want others to feel like their list needs to look like mine. I wanted to avoid making others feel pressured to make a list, even though that would not be my intent. So, there you have it 🙂 Maybe we can get together one of these days and I’ll show The List to you. Or, I could email it? I am so thankful for your friendship and wicked sense of humor. Hugs to you, my friend!

  4. I really like that version of Philippians 3:10, Beth! Thank you for sharing. As always, your thoughts encourage my heart. Hugs to you, my dear friend!

  5. Katie, love this post…Philippians 3:10 from the Amplified Bible is my daily prayer… “My determined purpose is that I may know Him, that I may progressively become more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him, perceiving and recognizing and understanding the wonders of His person more strongly and more clearly”…I wrote about it in this post…
    http://bethwillismiller.blogspot.com/2011/03/comfort-measures-only.html

Leave a Reply

