coffeeandcampfires

Requesting Back-up

I’m emotionally spent.  Soul weary.

So, I’ve called upon a few of my favorite authors and musicians.

This post is a compilation of various pieces that have greatly encouraged me this week.  I hope they do the same for you.

“Lead Kindly Light”

hymn lyrics by John Henry Newman

Lead Kindly Light, amid the encircling gloom, Lead Thou me on!

The night is dark, and I am far from home-Lead Thou me on!

Keep Thou my feet; I do not ask to see The distant scene-one step enough for me.

 

Living by faith includes the call to something greater than cowardly self-preservation. ~J.R.R. Tolkien

“Slipping Away”

song lyrics by Switchfoot

Our hope is just a metaphor, of something better
For all of our dreams tonight
And fear is just a shadow of the things that matter the most
And I fear that I’m losing hope tonight

Oh oh
I feel like I’m dreaming
Oh oh
Staring up at the ceiling
Oh oh
It’s four in the morning
I can’t sleep and it feels like a warning
Oh oh
You wouldn’t believe me
If I could say it just the way that I’m feeling
Oh oh
The words that I wanted to say
I feel them slipping away

Faithless is he that says farewell when the road darkens.  ~J.R.R. Tolkien
“Oceans” (Where My Feet May Fail)
song lyrics by Hillsong United
You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep
My faith will stand

And I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Your grace abounds in deepest waters
Your sovereign hand
Will be my guide
Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me
You’ve never failed and You won’t start now

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

 

And perhaps my most recent favorite, partly because my 6 year old requests it everyday:

“Lord, I Need You”

song lyrics by Matt Maher

Lord, I come, I confess
Bowing here I find my rest
Without You I fall apart
You’re the One that guides my heart

Lord, I need You, oh, I need You
Every hour I need You
My one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You

That last line could not be more true at this time.

Oh God, how I need You.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Requesting Back-up

  1. Alissa Wise on said:

    Thanks for the encouragement Katie! I needed it this week, today, everyday. I always go back to ‘Lord, I need you’ when times get tough. I always hate to admit I need help, but without His I’m going nowhere except further into the pits.

    • Thank you for sharing, Alissa. I have a hard time asking for help, as well. I’m so thankful for a God who knows that about me and loves me enough to put me in situations where I’m forced to my knees. If only we could be more conscious of our need for Him in all things. Thinking of you and praying for you today~

  2. Carol Long on said:

    Just read your blog and I bow my head in prayer for you to have a restful, peaceful night. Call me if you want to talk. I am usually awake. Love you.

  3. Thank you for your prayers, phone calls, and encouragement, Jess. I’m so thankful for your faithful friendship on this road. You are a true co-warrior in the faith.

  4. I mean ‘quiet’ not ‘quite’! I’m on my way. . .

  5. I am going to a quite place right now and praying for you. I can feel your weary soul.

  6. love you Katie!

Leave a Reply

