coffeeandcampfires

Reason to Sing

I recently spent a wonderful day connecting with past and future Plateau summer staff, as well as fellow camp professionals at Cairn University. When I returned home that evening, I was saddened to read the various emails/FB posts of folks all over the map who are struggling, discouraged, hopeless.

The murder of a police officer in FL…

A five-year old prepping for major brain surgery…

The serious impact of this winter weather…

The deaths of two local teenagers in a car accident…

Or what about:

The shocking diagnosis of a life-altering illness…

The unknown test results that grip you with fear…

Your child with special needs, whose appointments and therapies flood your calendar…

Your prodigal family member, who seems numb to any consequences…

Your slow, downward spiral into financial ruin…

The aching loss from the death of your loved one…

That evil companion, chronic pain, who leaves you writhing, desperate for relief…

Your fall into the deep pit of discouragement, where you cannot imagine a way out…

The exhausting daily battle to choose joy in the midst of the mundane…

Family drama that squelches any desire to visit “home”…

Your false guilt that paralyzes your ability to make any decision…

Your frustration and fatigue from work, where change seems futile and you wonder how you can continue…

These stories matter because these souls matter to me.

After reading those emails/FB posts, I took a moment to listen to a few songs by All Sons & Daughters, a band whose music first captivated me in 2011. Their folksy sound, strong vocals, and meaningful lyrics…seriously, what’s not to love?

In my feeble attempt to provide a space for you to feel like your story matters, I’ve included a live video of this fantastic band worshipping the Lord through their song, Reason to Sing. I found it helpful to close my eyes and imagine Jesus sitting right next to me while we listened together. I tried to picture His arm around my shoulders, His kind hands wiping away my tears, reminding me of His unending love and His presence with me and with the many who weep today.

Wherever life finds you in this season, would you join me in daring to believe that there’s a Reason to sing?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UGhmvNGFENE

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

